The “You create the paintings you see” project- image #3

Ready for some more Magritte magic?

Indeed, it’s time to see what other people who chose to be a part of the “You create the paintings you see” project saw in the third painting of the project. How different are these interpretations from yours?

26920-Magritte, Rene

1.

I believe that the circular shape of the object and the exterior theater-like pattern suggest a semi-closed universe. Each of us leaves in his own world if we are positioned with the face towards the interior, but if we dare to turn, to move, to act, we will discover gates to other worlds.

*By Anda Radu, blog here

2.

The first time I laid eyes on his paintings, two years ago, I immediately thought I found myself in front of repeated attempts of affronting the conventional in order for the author to stand out in relief, to become known. But the more paintings I got to see, the more convinced I was that’s the way he actually saw the world.
The paintings you posted emphasize my opinion that Magritte stood for the idea of reinventing oneself in boundless ways, of expressing one’s personality juggling with the things around us and their concealed meanings.
The painting that had an almost striking impact on me as I first saw it on your blog was number 3. To me, that piece of art looks like a confession of Magritte’s inner self and the overview of his own work.
To start off, the pleated curtain circles a hollow space on the stage, creating an open cylinder which allows the onlookers to glance. As far as I’m concerned, this bespeaks the way Magritte saw himself: as an artist (the stage) inside his own world (the shape of the cylinder with its closing tendency). But still, he longs to be observed, admired so he left an open door.
Now, why the primary shape of a circle? My impression is that he meant it as a symbol of endlessness. Exactly the number of possibilities he has to meld his “pieces of puzzle”(the outward things) as to create a whole.
Furthermore, the inner side reveals the wide, flat image of the classic blue sky laden with clouds. In my view, this landscape suggests the main qualities of Magritte’s world as he saw it: freedom, lack of prejudices, infinite space and time to create. I believe it’s also one of his desires: to be contemplated, peered at as we all do when looking up, at the sky.
When I found out the title (“The memoirs of a saint”) I wasn’t overtaken at all. “Memoirs” suggest “a peek into” someone’s thoughts as one confesses them and “saint”, the way Magritte fancied himself as: a creature beyond our power of comprehension, someone who belongs to the sky and its immeasurableness.

*By Monica Croitoru

3.

Me and my boyfriend interpreted this picture differently. Personally, I would like to imagine that it represents the beginning of a play at the theater, having Heaven as its main theme. He, on the other hand, perceived it as if he were sitting by a god, watching him open the curtain to the human world. In a sense it is as if you are on mount Olympus with the Greek gods, observing mortals develop their daily activities on Earth.

*By 100%Mag and Rick

There are still two paintings left! Hurry up if you wish your interpretations and your website to be featured in the next blog posts!

Leave a Reply

