The “You create the paintings you see” project- Image #2

And thus, we continue to discover Magritte’s magic when playing with our minds, as he taciturnly urges us to interpret his paintings in our own way and to make them relevant to our own lives.

For those of you who do not know what the project is all about, you can find more details here, and the interpretations for the first painting here.

So now let us see in what ways picture #2 incited people’s imagination…

images

1.

Because it made me dive into my thoughts a little more, I chose the second painting. And what I’ve come to believe about its meaning (after a discussion with Patris, I must admit – but she only helped put my opinion into words!) is the following: Clothes, by how we dress and associate with what we put on, have their own way of showing what’s underneath. Sometimes, they can reveal even more than there really is. For instance, a dress that goes on so well may trick the eye into seeing curves under all that material that don’t really exist. Or, another example, a certain colour could make one’s skin glow. Of course, here I’m talking about the exterior appearance of someone, as I think the painting emphasizes only on this aspect. Concerning the name of the composition, “Philosophy of the boudoir”, which I looked up only after I finished my explanation, I believe fits to my way of seeing it, maybe only restricting the range of clothes I referred to to an intimate kind, the boudoir type.

*By Ana, read her blog here

2.

What we wear becomes a part of us. Our clothes represent us in a way that we might not realize; they can reveal intimate, personal things.

*By Anda Radu, blog here

3.

Might be because the issue of how concepts work has concerned me for some time now that upon first looking at this particular Magritte I interpreted it as a depiction of the strange power some objects have in evoking the things they are meant to hide. Simple as it appears, a nightgown or a pair of shoes evokes more readily what they have been created to conceal, breasts or feet in this case, rather than calling attention upon themselves. Which explains why they have become symbols of eroticism if any viewer can readily associate them with a visual pleasure found underneath.
And seeing the title, I can’t help but notice Magritte’s painting did prompt me to develop a philosophy of boudoir imagery.
*By Patricia Beykrat, blog here

4.

Clothes represent a second skin underneath which we can hide our imperfections.

*By 100%Mag and Rick

Leave a Reply

