How easily do you give in? ( And a delectable G. B. Shaw anecdote )

Distressing and nerve-racking as it may be, it cannot be denied (no matter how ardently desired) that we all have our price. Some shamelessly give in at the first glance of something profitable despite its immorality, and some are more steadfast in their principles and don’t give in unless they are forced to by the situation. Yet when we give in and the reasons for our doing so represent the utmost pieces to solve the elaborate puzzle we call character.

I know at first many tend to resolutely deny any possibility of ever behaving unethically, but try and be honest with yourself, in the intimacy of your own mind. What would you do if say your family was in an imminent danger and you could somehow save them? Or what if you could be able to do something that you’ve dreamed of all your life, and despite its having been genuinely impossible for you to achieve it, it now is as easy as A, B, C? Maybe not precisely these situations, but certain situations may occur in which you would be tempted to yield pressured by the circumstances. By contemplating these situations you can get to know yourself better,  comprehend your strengths and weaknesses.

G. B. Shaw, renowned for his delicious witticism, turned one of his experiences into a facetious anecdote that humorously urges us to dig deeper into such matters. It goes as follows:

George Bernard Shaw once found himself at a dinner party, seated beside an attractive woman. “Madam,” he asked, “would you go to bed with me for a thousand pounds?” The woman blushed and rather indignantly shook her head.

“For ten thousand pounds?” he asked. “No. I would not.” “Then how about fifty thousand pounds?” he continued.

The colossal sum gave the woman pause, and after further reflection, she coyly replied: “Perhaps.” “And if I were to offer you five pounds?” Shaw asked.

“Mr. Shaw!” the woman exclaimed. “What do you take me for!” “We have already established what you are,” Shaw calmly replied. “Now we are merely haggling over the price.”

George2-copy

4 responses to “How easily do you give in? ( And a delectable G. B. Shaw anecdote )

  1. Hello Diana. Wow I never thought that I would ever find anyone else quoting G B Shaw. A great post, and one that poses a lot of questions. Have you ever read Major Barbara, by G B Shaw? I imagine you have but if not, may I recommend you do so. You might also like to dip into a work of mine on my blog called the Paradox of Man. It is a little “heavy” at times, but I think, with your attitude to life, it explores topics that you might enjoy.

    • I’ve read several G. B. Shaw plays but not that one, thank you for recommending it to me! I shall definitely read it as soon as I get hold of it. Thanks for your comment!

  2. Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring
    a blog post or vice-versa? My site discusses a lot of the same topics as yours and I think wwe could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you happen to be interested feel free to shoot me an email.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

